I’m so excited to have you as my guest this week, Sue. I was hoping you could fill us in on one of the characters that has haunted you the most in your writing career.

Funny you should ask me about the character that haunted me because the other night at 3am – the witching hour for me – I awake to find a figure at the foot of my bed. You know how it is when you just wake up, you screw your eyes up to get a better look because you think you’re still dreaming. But this thing is real. I tell you, I haven’t seen skin that bad since the last Jurassic Park movie.

Its slobbery lips smile to reveal needle teeth, and, ugh, some kind of greenish gunk dripping off them. I press back against the headboard so none of it gets on me. “Are you going to kill me?” I stammer with, I’m ashamed to admit, a bit of a wimpy whine in my voice.

It reaches out a hairy gorilla-like paw and grips my jaw tightly. “I haven’t made my mind up,” it says in a voice that sounds like a creaking door. “But don’t worry, you won’t die for a long, long time.”

I close my eyes at the venom in its voice but when I find the courage to peek one open again, the thing has changed. In a matter of seconds it’s morphed into a person, a man. Tall, upright and slim, the image of my husband.

His handsome face breaks into a treasured smile, “Call me Felix,” he says in that much-loved voice, the look in his eye designed to set me on fire.

“But you’re not…” I look to my left at the sleeping form of my husband, snoring quietly, and then back at the creature trying to imitate him. “You’re not who you say you are.”

Felix frowns and another image is superimposed on top of the handsome one. Like someone pulling off a wrapper, the figure in front of me transforms once again into the slavering, suppurating creature. “And neither are you, despite what you think,” it creaks at me. “I need courageous souls, not a shivering coward like you.”

That’s a bit much, I think, lifting my chin in challenge. “And just why do you want people like that?”

Its thick scabby lips curl into a hideous grin. “Because they suffer more keenly and their fear is so much tastier than mere ordinary mortals’.”

As it speaks, its image fades until it disappears with hardly a displacement of air, leaving me to thank my stars that it discarded me as a mere ordinary mortal.

But Jude Elliot wasn’t so lucky. Check out his encounter with demon Slater the Prince of Envy in my new novel, Hewhay Hall (published April 2012 by Etopia Press)

Blurb: An unsung hero’s destiny–Slater’s house of horrors.

Fire-fighter Jude Elliott loses part of his leg trying to rescue a family held hostage during a terrorist attack. He journeys to mysterious Hewhay Hall, where it is told there are wondrous, magical cures. Little does Jude know that his destination is Slater The Prince of Envy’s lair where a demon resides and courageous souls are tormented… Can Jude escape Slater’s house of horrors, or will he suffer for all of eternity?

Buy links:

Amazon
Barnes and Noble
Kobo
OmniLit

Also by Susan Roebuck: Perfect Score (Finalist in the Mainstream Category of the 2012 EPIC E-Book Awards)

Buy:  Amazon

Publisher

Blurb: Perfect Score is about the rite of passage of two young men, Alex and Sam, from the opposite side of the tracks. Alex lives in his uncle’s mansion, and while money and a stable future have been lined up for him by his powerful and withholding uncle, he wants nothing more than to be a song writer and to live happily ever after with Sam — a boy he met once when he was in his teens. Sam’s life is more wretched: he was abused, ran away from the fists of an abusive step-father and unstable foster homes, and lived most of his prepubescent and teen years in the streets, fending for himself and taking on as many jobs as he could to pay for his sister’s bills at the hospital for the crippled. Struggling to make sense of the two divergent lives they have been dealt, Alex and Sam find their way to one another through a journey full of boundless love and compassion, growth, and strength.

Find Susan Roebuck:

Blog: http://www.susanroebuck.com

FaceBook: http://www.facebook.com/SuRoebuck

Image

Image

Thank you so much, Sue. I loved your story. You are one very interesting woman and I consider it an honor to have you around this week.

