My guest this week is author Regan Taylor. With the heatwave going on, I thought I’d ask her what she’s up to. Mostly, I wanted to know what a popular writer is reading. Say that five times fast. So Regan, what books are you bringing with you to the beach this summer and why?

Growing up summertime was my favorite time of year in part because school was out but more so summer reading. Without homework there was more time to read.

I’ve always been pretty introverted. People are always surprised when they hear that, but I am. It’s a struggle to talk to people and groups are major difficult times for me. As a child and young adult my happiest time were sitting in my room reading a book, any book. I poured through my father’s collection of world’s greatest literature and devoured Alexandre Dumas and the complete Charles Dickens. Reading opened up new worlds, new ideas and took me places I’d otherwise never get to go.  Despite my mother’s penchant for trying to find friends for me (I really did have some I found on my own that I liked doing things with) one thing she did do that I enjoyed was every Wednesday night we went down to the library. I think it was because it was open late on Wednesday but I don’t remember anymore. All I know is Wednesday night was library night. Ironically now, as an adult, I generally find my way over to the San Francisco main library on Wednesday lunch hours. I could have worse habits, you know? Summer time meant more time to read.

Nowadays I have an hour or so commute each way to work which means at least 2 hours a day to engage in my favorite solitary pastime—reading. I average 3-4 books a week unless I’m digging into a long novel like Helen Hooven Santmyer’s AND THE LADIES OF THE CLUB at about 1,000 pages (Anyone else remember that book?) or one of W.E.B. Griffin’s stories. Lately I’ve become a bit of a cozy mystery addict and to feed that I’ve been finding some wonderful authors like Penny Warner and Victoria Laurie. Victoria Laurie’s Psychic Eye series is a major favorite. I’m dreading finishing the last in the series without the next one waiting for me. I have to wait till September for Penny Warner’s next Party Planning mystery, HOW TO DINE ON KILLER WINE, but I do have my next few Victoria Laurie’s Psychic Eye mysteries lined up and ready to read including her Ghost Hunter series (she has such a great writing voice).

I also picked up one of Katherine Hall Page’s mysteries, BODY IN THE BELFRY and BODY IN THE KELP because her premise intrigues me.

In preparation of Pamela Clare’s DEFIANT I’m rereading the first two in her MacKinnon’s Rangers series, SURRENDER and UNTAMED. While I enjoy her contemporary romantic suspense (I-Team series), I REALLY like her historicals. A couple of years ago I started to reread all my Rosemary Rogers’ books and on tap for this summer are MIDNIGHT LADY and ALL I DESIRE.

People who know me well know I’m not a fan of vampires and werewolves but I have gotten hooked on Lynsay Sands’ Argeneau series and plan to continue reading my way through them. (If you haven’t tried them, they are a hoot.)

Of course I need to write—writing becomes a part of you that you just can’t put aside.  I will be finishing SAPPHIRE and anticipating the release of DEVIL’S DETAILS.

So what are you reading this summer?  What drew you to these books and authors?-
http://regantaylorsworld.blogspot.com/

Thank you so much, Regan. I loved getting to know you a little better. As for the rest of you, let us know what you’re reading and why. We’d LOVE to hear from you. You’ll also be entered into our contest for our weekly prize and also it will give you a chance to win our grand prize of a $50.00 gift card to Amazon.  Have a wonderful summer everyone and keep on reading!

